Swimming has its origins in physiotherapy and rehabilitation. However, this sport is now among the most popular and competitive in the Paralympic Games. Swimming is open to athletes from all disability groups. Events are divided into three classifications – visually impaired, athletes with a physical disability (functional) and athletes with an intellectual disability. Swimmers compete in one of 14 classifications depending on the type of disability and their functional ability. No prostheses may be worn during competition.

For more information about classification and points system in swimming, click here For classification information, contact Margaret Gregson 0417 960 202

Get started
Contact David Krantz
(02) 9809 5260

Partnering organisation
Swimming NSW
Swimming Australia


Wheelchair Sports NSW (WS NSW), formed in 1961, is a charitable organisation with a mission to enrich the lives of people living with a disability through participation in sport.

Get social with us